Austin Film Critics picks

AFCA Top 10 Films of 2021

Nicolas Cage in Pig

1: Pig
2: The Power of the Dog
3: Licorice Pizza
4: Dune
5: Drive My Car
6: The Green Knight
7: Titane
8: The Tragedy of Macbeth
9: Parallel Mothers and The Worst Person in the World (tie)Benedict Cumberbatch in The Power of the Dog

Best FilmThe Power of the Dog
Best Director: Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog
Best Actress: Agathe Rousselle, Titane
Best Actor: Nicolas Cage, Pig
Best Supporting Actress: Kirsten Dunst, The Power of the Dog
Best Supporting Actor: Kodi Smit-McPhee, The Power of the Dog
Best EnsembleThe French Dispatch
Best Original Screenplay: Vanessa Block and Michael Sarnoski, Pig
Best Adapted Screenplay: Ryūsuke Hamaguchi and Takamasa Oe, Drive My Car
Best Cinematography: Andrew Droz Palermo, The Green Knight
Best Editing: Joe Walker, Dune
Best Original Score: Jonny Greenwood, The Power of the Dog
Best International FilmDrive My Car
Best DocumentarySummer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)
Best Animated FilmThe Mitchells vs. The Machines
Best Voice Acting/Animated/Digital Performance: Abbi Jacobson, The Mitchells vs. The Machines
Best StuntsNo Time to Die
Best First Film: Michael Samoski, Pig
Austin Film AwardWithout Getting Killed or Caught
The Robert R. “Bobby” McCurdy Memorial Breakthrough Artist AwardAlana HaimLicorice Pizza
SPECIAL AWARD: Best Film Made in Austin by a Non-Austin Filmmaker: Writer/Director Shatara Michelle Ford for Test Pattern

Founded in 2005, the Austin Film Critics Association is comprised of reviewers working in the Austin area, including critics from the Austin ChronicleAustin American-Statesman,, Bloody Disgusting, But Why Tho Podcast, Certified Forgotten, Cinapse, Daily Grindhouse, the Daily Dot, the Daily Texan, Double Toasted, Fangoria, Film School Rejects,, GotchaMovies, Hammer to Nail, Hill Country News, Horror’s Not Dead, KOOP 91.7 FM Radio,, Nerdist, Next Projection, One Movie Punch, One Of Us, Slashfilm, Smells Like Screen Spirit, True View Reviews, and Uproxx. All films released between Feb. 27 and Dec. 24, 2021, were eligible for voting.