And the winner is … Independent Spirit Awards 2022

Television Categories

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series
Black and Missing
The Choe Show
The Lady and The Dale
Nuclear Family
Philly D.A.

Best New Scripted Series
It’s a Sin
Reservation Dogs
The Underground Railroad
We Are Lady Parts

Best Female Performance in a New Scripted Series
Thuso Mbedu, The Underground Railroad
Anjana Vasan, We Are Lady Parts
Jana Schmieding, Rutherford Falls
Jasmine Cephas Jones, Blindspotting
Deborah Ayorinde, THEM: Covenant

Best Male Performance in a New Scripted Series
Lee Jung-jae, Squid Game
Olly Alexander, It’s a Sin
Michael Greyeyes, Rutherford Falls
Murray Bartlett, The White Lotus
Ashley Thomas, THEM: Covenant

Film Categories

Robert Altman Award

Best Supporting Female
Ruth Negga, Passing
Jessie Buckley, The Lost Daughter
Amy Forsyth, The Novice
Revika Reustle, Pleasure
Suzanna Son, Red Rocket

Best Screenplay
Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Lost Daughter
Nikole Beckwith, Together Together
Janicza Bravo, Jeremy O. Harris, Zola
Mike Mills, C’mon C’mon
Todd Stephens, Swan Song

Best Editing
Joi McMillon, Zola
Affonso Gonçalves, A Chiara
Ali Greer, The Nowhere Inn
Nathan Nugent and Lauren Hadaway, The Novice
Enrico Natale, The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain

Best First Feature
7 Days
Queen of Glory
Test Pattern
Wild Indian

Best First Screenplay
Michael Sarnoski (Story by Vanessa Block, Michael Sarnoski), Pig
Lyle Mitchell Corbine, Jr., Wild Indian
Matt Fifer( Story by Sheldon D. Brown), Cicada
Shatara Michelle Ford, Test Pattern
Fran Kranz, Mass

Best Documentary
Summer of Soul
In The Same Breath

John Cassavetes Award (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000)
Shiva Baby
Sweet Thing
This is Not a War Story

Best Supporting Male
Troy Kotsur, CODA
Colman Domingo, Zola
Meeko Gattuso, Queen of Glory
Will Patton, Sweet Thing
Chaske Spencer, Wild Indian

Best Feature
A Chiara
C’mon C’mon
The Lost Daughter
The Novice

Best Director
Janicza Bravo, Zola
Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Lost Daughter
Lauren Hadaway, The Novice
Mike Mills, C’mon C’mon
Ninja Thyberg, Pleasure

Best Male Lead
Clifton Collins Jr., Jockey
Frankie Faison, Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain
Michael Greyeyes, Wild Indian
Udo Kier, Swan Song
Simon Rex, Red Rocket

Best Female Lead
Isabelle Fuhrman, The Novice
Brittany S. Hall, Test Pattern
Patti Harrison, Together Together
Taylour Paige, Zola
Kali Reis, Catch the Fair One

Best Cinematography
Tim Curtin, A Chiara
Matthew Chuang and Ante Cheng, Blue Bayou
Lol Crawley, The Humans
Eduard Grau, Passing
Ari Wegner, Zola

Best International Film
Compartment No. 6
Drive My Car
Parallel Mothers
Petite Maman
Prayers for the Stolen

Producers Award
Lizzie Shapiro
Brad Becker-Parton
Pin-Chun Liu

Someone to Watch Award
Alex Camilleri, Luzzu
Michael Sarnoski, Pig
Gillian Wallace Horvat, I Blame Society

The Truer Than Fiction Award
Jessica Beshir, Faya Dayi
Angelo Madsen Minax, North By Current
Jessica Beshir, Faya Dayi
Debbie Lum, Try Harder!